WHY drumheads?

I am often asked this question, and I also ask myself it time and again. I realized that my fascination for natural skins had reached me via a detour through my passion for vintage drums. Many drummers forget how important the skin is in the chain starting with the player, the sticks – … – … to the wood of the drum and hoops, the drumhead is actually the most important part of the chain. And not just the one you play, but also the one on the underside of the drum.

And WHY natural furs?

When I got my hands on my first “vintage” drum, I asked myself how it was possible for an original head to still be intact and playable after such a long time. The special thing about natural fur is that it hardly wears out and therefore stays in its original condition for much longer. This extends the durability of such a fur many times over compared to a synthetic fur.

THE special - THE wood

But what makes the drumheads from the Austrian Drumhead Company so special?

There are many manufacturers and countless models of drumheads and natural drumheads made from different types of parchment. An important part of the skin is the hoop on which the parchment is mounted. While most manufacturers use metal (usually aluminum), I use hand-selected beech wood, which I cut and sand by hand and then bend under steam. The coat then remains on the tire until the end of the drying process. This special process makes it possible for me to produce drum heads that are not available on the market.

100% Handmade – In Austria

More info?

Then just write to me! I look forward to your inquiries.

🧐❓How do Austrian Drumhead Company heads sound with brushes ❓❓❓🧐...here`s the answer! 😉#austriandrumheadcompany #yourfriendhans #calfheads #vintagedrums #drumheads #austria ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook
🤩 🤩🤩 Check that out - my friend Steve Maxwell did an comparison of 14(!!!) different drumheads AND is doing a GIVEAWAY! 😳🥁 #austriandrumheadcompany #calfheads #stevemaxwelldrumshop #yourfriendhans ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook
#austriandrumheadcompany #yourfriendhans #drumheads ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook

WARUM eigentlich Trommelfelle?

Diese Frage bekomme ich oft gestellt, und auch ich stelle sie mir selbst immer wieder. Mir wurde klar, dass mich die Faszination für Naturfelle über den Umweg durch meine Leidenschaft für Vintagedrums erreicht hat. Viele Drummer vergessen, wie wichtig in der Kette beginnend beim Spieler, den Sticks – … –  bis hin zum Holz der Trommel und Spannreifen eigentlich aber das Fell ist. Und nicht nur jenes das man spielt, sonders auch jenes das sich an der Unterseite der Trommel befindet.

Und WARUM eigentlich Naturfelle?

Als ich meine erste “alte” Trommel in die Hände bekam, stellte ich mir die Frage, wie es möglich sein kann, dass ein Originalfell nach so langer Zeit noch immer unversehrt und bespielbar ist. Die Besonderheit an einem Naturfell ist, dass es sich kaum abnützt und dadurch viel länger im ursprünglichen Zustand bleibt. Somit verlängert sich die Haltbarkeit eines solchen Fells um ein Vielfaches gegenüber einem Kunststofffell.

DAS Besondere - DAS Holz

Was macht die Felle der Austrian Drumhead Company jetzt aber so besonders?

Es gibt viele Hersteller und unzählige Modelle von Trommelfellen und Naturfellen, die aus verschiedensten Pergamenten hergestellt sind. Ein wichtiger Teil des Fells ist der Reifen, auf den das Pergament aufgezogen wird. Während die meisten Hersteller Metall (meist Aluminium) verwenden, setze ich auf handselektiertes Buchenholz, welches von mir händisch geschnitten, geschliffen und anschließend unter Dampf gebogen wird. Das Fell verweilt danach bis zum Ende der Trocknung auf dem Reifen.

100% Handmade – In Austria

Mehr Infos?

Dann schreibt mir einfach! Ich feue mich über Anfragen.